In Burundi, you’ll find a mix of cities and towns, each with its unique character. Here are some of the major ones:

  1. Bujumbura: The former capital of Burundi, Bujumbura is the largest city and serves as a vital port on the northeastern shore of Lake Tanganyika. Its population stands at approximately 1,124,166.

  2. Gitega: Currently the capital of Burundi, Gitega is another significant city. It has a population of around 125,944

  3. Muyinga: With a population of about 95,609, Muyinga is an essential urban center in the country.

  4. Ngozi: Ngozi boasts a population of approximately 86,844 and contributes to Burundi’s urban landscape

  5. Ruyigi: This city is home to around 77,139 residents and plays a role in the nation’s development

  6. Kayanza: With a population of about 70,767, Kayanza is a notable town in Burundi

  7. Bururi: Bururi has approximately 57,478 inhabitants and adds to the diversity of Burundi’s urban areas

  8. Muramvya: This city is home to around 51,458 people and contributes to the country’s social fabric

  9. Makamba: With a population of about 45,396, Makamba is an important center in Burundi

  10. Rumonge: Rumonge, with approximately 35,931 residents, is another significant town in the country